DEV Community

Cover image for How to Restore multiple Meta Mask Accounts: Tips and Tricks no one tells you !
Jessica Roberts
Jessica Roberts

Posted on

How to Restore multiple Meta Mask Accounts: Tips and Tricks no one tells you !

MetaMask is a popular cryptocurrency wallet and browser extension that allows users to securely manage their digital assets and interact with decentralized applications (dApps) on the Ethereum blockchain. In this blog post, we will provide you with a step-by-step guide on how to restore your MetaMask accounts, ensuring that you can regain access to your funds and continue using the platform seamlessly.

Why Restore Your MetaMask Accounts?
Recently I was doing some experiments to help my QA team member resolve his issues regarding the automation script. I somehow ended up corrupting my Metamask extension in Google Chrome. And it ended badly for me, so once it got corrupted chrome asked me to get it repaired, and I followed. And once it finished the repairing process (it in fact reinstalled the extension), BOOM all my Accounts were gone and it was a fresh Metamask installation altogether. So, this was my reason, but you can have any of the following scenarios as well:

– You have lost or forgotten your MetaMask password.

– Your computer or device has been damaged, lost, or stolen.

– You have recently switched to a new device and want to transfer your accounts.

So I was devastated, but then I remembered that I do have my recovery phrase safely stored. So, I followed these steps to restore my MetaMask account:

Step 1: Install MetaMask: If you don’t have MetaMask installed, download and install it on your device from the official website.

Step 2: Launch MetaMask: Open the MetaMask extension or application on your device.

Step 3: Click “Get Started” or “Import Wallet”: On the MetaMask welcome screen, select the option to restore an existing wallet using a seed phrase.

Step 4: Enter Seed Phrase: Input your 12 or 24-word seed phrase in the correct order. Double-check the words for accuracy, as a single mistake can lead to the loss of your funds.

Step 5: Set New Password: After entering the seed phrase, you will be prompted to set a new password for your MetaMask account. Choose a strong, unique password to secure your wallet.

But as expected it only recovered the first account (Account 1) by default, what about all the other 10+ accounts that I have created with Metamask, did I just lose them? After a brief googling, I found out that there is a way to get those accounts back, they are just there only.

To Check the Step by Step Process please check the blog on our website
Link: https://techforceglobal.com/blog/how-to-restore-multiple-metamask-accounts-a-detailed-guide-with-tips-and-tricks/
Contact us if you have any questions or feedback.
We’re always here to help!
https://techforceglobal.com/contact-us/

Join the conversation by leaving a comment below and do follow us to get new updates about the crypto world!

Top comments (0)