DEV Community

Jesse Warden
Jesse Warden

Posted on • Originally published at jessewarden.com

Lumpers and Splitters

Watching a Kent Beck talk, and because of recent events, I really liked his definition of the 2 types of developer preferences: “Lumpers” and “Splitters” (at 41:30 mark)

The lumpers like all the things in one place, co-located. I became a lumper once I learned Functional Programming. You have types and functions next to each other, and if you need to go to another part of the file, you use split-view in VSCode to see the same file, but different parts, side-by-side.

The splitters like a bunch of small things in many files. I was a splitter back in my OOP days. You have classes in many files, typically 1, and if you need to view another file, you use split-view in VSCode to see the the 2 files side-by-side.

Top comments (0)