DEV Community

Cover image for 6. DNS
jicoing
jicoing

Posted on • Updated on

6. DNS

After creating the S3 static website and configuring it for a Cloudfront distribution, we got the HTTPS security layer, however life is already too stessfull for many to remember Cloudfront Domain name such as https://d1cs99***.cloudfront.net

Alt text

This is where a custom DNS domain name comes into the picture.
www.komlalebu.com

Route53

I registered my new domain name on AWS Route53. Route53 is a scalable cloud Domain Name System(DNS) web service where you can register as well as manage your DNS configurations for your domains.
From the Route53 console I clicked on create hosted zone.

Alt Text

and named my domain as komlalebu.com

Alt Text

Once that was done I setup my hosted zone with an alias record for sub domain www and the alias value pointing to the Cloudfront Domain name which I had previously configured will SSL certificate from ACM.

Alt Text

Alt Text

And it was done. The website has a simple address now.

Alt Text

Top comments (0)