DEV Community

Cover image for Linux, I Choose You! 🐧
Jimmy McBride
Jimmy McBride Subscriber

Posted on • Originally published at jimmymcbride.dev

Linux, I Choose You! 🐧

First off, I’m not here to tell you what to do or shame anyone for making different choices. What works for me might not work for you, and that’s totally fine! This blog is just about why I love Linux and why I don’t want to run anything else on my main machine. My opinion comes from my experiences and values, having used all three major operating systems: Linux, Windows, and macOS. Your experiences might be different, and that’s cool!

Ownership

One of the biggest reasons I choose Linux is ownership. I own my operating system—no terms, no contracts, no companies breathing down my neck trying to squeeze something out of me. When I’m on Linux, I own every part of my machine. I own the hard drive, the CPU, the GPU, the RAM—all of it, including the OS that ties it all together.

Microsoft and Apple, on the other hand, feel like they’re more interested in getting something from me—whether it’s my data, my money, my attention, or whatever else they can squeeze out. Sure, Windows or macOS might have features that seem appealing, but in my experience, Linux offers something way better: control.

There are fewer and fewer programs that run only on Windows or macOS, so the list of reasons to dual-boot is shrinking fast. For me, there’s no program that’s worth the hassle of using Windows or macOS. Since I went all-in on Linux, I’ve been happier, and I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything. Can’t say the same for Windows or macOS.

Freedom

With Linux, I’m free to do what I want with my system. Windows and macOS lock you into one environment and only let you customize things as much as the developers allow. Linux? There are so many desktop environments it’ll make your head spin. Sure, it can be overwhelming at first, but I love being able to pick any environment, tinker with it, and make it my own.

For example, I love how Qtile workspaces operate, but Hyprland doesn’t work the same way. No problem! I wrote a bash script to make the workspaces function like Qtile. If something doesn’t work the way I want, I have the freedom to change it, and that’s empowering. There’s no one telling me what I can’t do.

Open Source

Not everything needs to be open source, but the open-source community is full of saints. Look at what people have built—take Neovim, for example. It’s amazing, free, and you can do anything you want with it. No strings attached.

Of course, there’s always a downside to the internet: trolls and haters. Sometimes it’s heartbreaking to see people trashing open-source projects when the contributors are working out of pure passion. These people deserve way more patience and kindness. Honestly, I think the world would be better off if people stopped blowing money on the latest Apple gadget they don’t need and instead donated that money to an open-source project they love and use regularly.

Morals

This ties into open source. Consumerism, in my view, is corroding people’s values and lives. GNU/Linux represents the opposite of that. I love seeing people work on what they’re passionate about, and if their work impacts enough lives, people give back, lifting each other up.

That said, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. There’s real pain and sacrifice behind a lot of these beautiful open-source projects. I respect the people who pour their hearts into making something great for others. I want to be part of a future where technology and nature coexist, not one where tech replaces or destroys everything. And yeah, companies like Microsoft and Apple will rake in millions, even if it’s on the backs of child labor or morally grey practices. Anything for that bigger buck.

With Linux, GNU, and FOSS, I don’t feel like I’m being taken advantage of. They’re not trying to steal my data, train AI models on my usage patterns, or get me addicted to a product that could be hurting me in the long run. I just want to be surrounded by good people who care about one another. Sure, Linux has its elitists who shout "RTFM" at you, but don’t sweat them. I’ve found the overwhelming majority of the community to be humble and helpful, with only a few toxic corners here and there.

Conclusion

And that’s why Linux is the only operating system on my personal machine. Anything I sacrifice from Windows or macOS is worth it to me. Linux gives me peace of mind and aligns with my values. If you’ve made it to the end of this blog—kudos, and thank you so much for reading!

If you enjoyed this post and are looking for a non-toxic community of like-minded people, I’d love for you to join my Discord server! We’ve got a great mix of beginners and veterans who love to code, tinker, and build things. Sometimes, I even post polls to help name my blog posts! Come join us, and let’s build something awesome together.

Click here to join the conversation!

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
eshimischi profile image
eshimischi • Edited

Was into Linux a lot at the beginning of 2000s, made my own distro from scratch, but usability and user-friendliness were quite low that time, so of course you need to be a pro to use any Unix system. Don’t appreciate Windows at all, now is only MacOS.

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Linux has come a long, long way since then :)

Collapse
 
eshimischi profile image
eshimischi

Well, obviously. It’s a proper tool for servers.

Thread Thread
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

For sure, specifically in the desktop experience though. Printers, speakers, microphones, gaming and much more are incredibly strong in the desktop world now. :)

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

As a fellow Linux user, I fully agree with everything you said. It's nice having full ownership of your machine. What distro are you running?

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

What about you? What's your main distro of choice?

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Arch Linux as well!

Thread Thread
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

😎

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Thanks! I started off with Manjaro w/ Gnome for a very long time, did some playing around with many others, but now I'm just running vanilla Arch with Hyprland like a filthy meta slave. Haha

Collapse
 
kurealnum profile image
Oscar

Lol that's understandable. I started with Ubuntu using Gnome a year ish ago, but now I'm using Arch with i3.

Thread Thread
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

I have a friend who loves i3. He's a total Linux chad and I learned a lot from him! :)

Collapse
 
abdulmuminyqn profile image
Abdulmumin yaqeen

Linux sure give you soo much freedom which can be overwhelming at first, but then you take it all in slowly, there and there you eventually get comfortable with it.

Then you reach a point where distros don't even matter anymore 😅.

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Yup! The are minor differences, but the biggest ones are rolling/fixed release (HUGE fan of rolling releases for desktop), and what you call the package manager. Some a little more up-to-date than others. I prefer the more up-to-date side, but that's not for everyone. But yeah, they are all incredibly similar haha

Collapse
 
mannuelf profile image
Mannuel • Edited

I just Upgraded to Ubuntu 24.04 I like it very much on this Lenovo legion.