DEV Community

JLi
JLi

Posted on

LENNAH - A simple static site generator

For our first assignment we are to make a SSG in whatever language we want. So I decided to make mine is C++ because its been a while since I last did any C++. I've been taking a lot of web development courses two semesters ago but not really many C++, and I just learned C# at my co-op job over the summer. So my C++ is a little rusty so I figured this is the best project to get the rust off again.

So here is LENNAH, my simple static site generator! Why is it called LENNAH? I just randomly got a character from a game and liked the name.

LENNAH takes a txt file or a folder containing txt file(s) and converts them into html files with simple formatting.

Features

  • The first line of the txt will be set as the HTML title and be given <h1> tags
  • If a folder is given as the input path it can recursively search deep folders within it

How to use

  1. Clone the repo from here.
  2. Get the absolute path of the LennahSSG.exe (e.g. C:\Users\<Username>\LennahSSG\Debug\LennahSSG.exe)
  3. Open the console and enter the path followed by an argument

Arguments

Argument Description
-h, --help Displays the help information
-v, --version Displays the current version number
-i <PATH>, --input <PATH> Converts txt file(s) at the <PATH> to html

Example

Here's a little example of how to use LENNAH

C:\Users\User\LennahSSG\Debug\LennahSSG.exe -i "Silver Blaze.txt"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This will result in this sample html page.

More features will be added throughout my open source course so I'm excited to see what comes next for LENNAH!

Top comments (0)