DEV Community

Joanne
Joanne

Posted on

Day 5 - Flower Friday

Today is a busy day working on job applications and coding challenges. I made sure to take some time to do something fun and creative so I made a lotus flower!

flower

What I Learned

I built the flower using only HTML and CSS. Admittedly I'm not that good at math so I spent some time focusing on transformations and rotating the div elements that made up the flower. I learned you can mirror the divs by using transform: scale(-1,1).

For those who are good at eyeballing, there's the keyboard maneuver with Chrome dev tools where you can change pixels using up and down arrows like this:

devtools

How This Will Help Me

Now I know I can there are properties for mirroring and flipping. My CSS life will be much easier!

Onto the next challenge!

Top comments (0)