DEV Community

John Oerter
John Oerter

Posted on

Gear for a quick and effective standing desk

Today, I'd like to spread the word about two products that have significantly improved my work from home situation during this COVID-19 outbreak. If you're like me and don't have a furnished home office already, I hope you check these out and find them useful. The two products are the Roost Stand and the GhostStand desk.

Roost Stand

I am seriously impressed with this stand. When I was in the market for a laptop stand, I was looking for 3 things:

  1. Wide compatibility with different laptop sizes and models
  2. Portability
  3. Overall quality

For me, the Roost Stand hits all three marks. It's light yet sturdy. I can easily carry it with me to coffee shops, and my laptop feels extremely secure when it's resting on the stand.

If you don't already have a laptop stand to put your laptop at an ergonomic height, I highly recommend the Roost Stand.

Ghost Desk

You might be wondering why I'm recommending what essentially looks like a cardboard box. While it might seem silly, this desk does a pretty good job of making a workable standing desk if you don't have an alternative. You could cobble together some surfaces from around your house and accomplish the same thing, but it's harder than you'd think to get the right stair step height for keyboard and mouse placement lower than the monitor placement. For me, I've also found the portability aspect of this product to be a huge advantage over alternatives. It's also surprisingly sturdy for cardboard. I've been resting my laptop with the Rooststand on top and don't have any worries about the whole stand collapsing.

That's it! I hope you find these products helpful. I'd love to hear and see other improved work from home desk areas in the comments.

Top comments (0)