DEV Community

Chidiebere Chukwudi
Chidiebere Chukwudi

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at jovialcore.tech

How To Check for a particular Route then apply condition in laravel (blade)

I want to use a single nav bar (in layouts/app.blade.php) for all my pages in laravel but I wanted a way I could show a particular search form right on the navbar for only a particular page without duplicating layouts.

Here is how I solved it with named routes:

So I need to check if a URL is exactly like, e.g, "page" and then I show something.

My web.php

Route::get('/pages', function () {
    return view('page');
})->name('page');
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

My layouts/app.blade.php

<nav class="navbar">
   <ul class="navbar-nav">
          <li class="nav-item">
            <a class="nav-link" href="#">Coventions</a>
          </li>
        </ul>

   @if (\Route::current()->getName() == 'page') 

<form >
<input name="s" type="search">
</form>

@endif 

<button> Upload </button>

</nav>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

So whats happening above: I simply mean that if the route is same as 'page' every other thing under the blade @if (which is the search form )condition will show else, it should just ignore and display the rest.

I hope it helps.

Top comments (0)