DEV Community

Sarima Chiorlu
Sarima Chiorlu

Posted on

Outreachy: My Internship Journey

Introduction

I guess you've found me! I am Sarima Chiorlu, a software engineer based in Lagos, Nigeria. I am currently an Outreachy intern for Ersilia. I mostly write python with a focus on machine learning. I enjoy writing code, debugging, and working with data. This has led me to try various careers in the data path. When not writing code, you can catch me listening to music, reading novels or watching shows.

My core values

My core values are honesty, curiosity, and empathy. I will say these describes me as a person. I'll explain why below:

As a software engineer and generally, I have found that honesty is the foundation upon which trust is built, and I thrive on creating an environment where open communication can be made. This encourages one to be forthright about the challenges they face and the solutions they offer, and we can work together to build something that makes an impact in society.

I have the notion that curiosity is the bedrock of innovation. A curious mind constantly pursues knowledge, explores new ways of doing things, embraces unconventional solutions, etc. This refines your skills and helps you grow in new areas that you haven't yet explored. I try to promote curiosity and speak most about this when talking to people.

The world is difficult as it is. Trying to understand a person and provide solutions for their problems would make it a little bit tolerable. This is what inspires me when I create software. Creating software that would improve the livelihood of society.

Why I applied for Outreachy?

Since I began software development, I have had the opportunity to be a research assistant and have dealt mainly with research. However, I was looking for an application of my skills on a real-world project and an opportunity to work with mentors and people who had been in the programming field for a while now, gaining knowledge and also being a source of knowledge to others.

Outreachy provided me with the opportunity to connect with people, learn more cultures and languages, and improve my professional network.

I hope to connect with you more and tell you about my experience in the next 12 weeks. Until then, have a good day.

Top comments (0)