DEV Community

James
James

Posted on

Resources for Creating Your Own Visual Studio Code Theme

Hi everyone!

I recently made a Color Theme for Visual Studio Code. You can find it here or visit the repo here. I'll share all the websites/tools that I used along the way. Here they are:

1. Theme Studio for VS Code

home screen for Theme Studio for VS Code
Theme Studio for VS Code is a website where you can browse, fork or create your own theme. The process to create a theme is straightforward.

2. VS Code Extension Generator

GitHub logo microsoft / vscode-generator-code

Visual Studio Code extension generator

VS Code Extension Generator is the easiest way to create extensions like color theme. It also provides a detailed explanation on how to publish it after you finish making the theme.

3. Coolors

coolors screenshot
I use this website to get inspiration for colors to use in the color theme that I made. You can easily generate colors in this website or explore the combination of colors picked by others.

4. Image Color Picker

imagecolorpicker.com screenshot
This is another website where I pick a shade of a color that I'm using or to find a complementary color to match a color that I'm using.

5. VS Code Theme Color Reference

If you're new to editing color theme for VS Code, then you might need this. It has all the color code for the VS Code

Top comments (0)