DEV Community

Cover image for Project 57 of 100 - Compras MVP Splash Page
James Hubert
James Hubert

Posted on

Project 57 of 100 - Compras MVP Splash Page

Hey! I'm on a mission to make 100 React.js projects ending March 31st. Please follow my dev.to profile or my twitter for updates and feel free to reach out if you have questions. Thanks for your support!

Link to the deployed project: Link
Link to the repo: github

I didn't have anything else planned for today so I'm giving y'all a sneak peak at the homepage for a new application I am building. Would you let me know what you think of the initial design?

The service is called "Compras" which is Spanish for groceries/purchased goods. The idea is to give physical retail stores a free way to post their products online and make them searchable to everyone, absolutely free.

The idea came to me actually before Covid in 2019. I was in a neighborhood far from home and purchased a Fentiman's lemonade at a small coffee shop. It was so good I wanted to see if there was any store near me that had it, but there's no way to just look. You can search on Google Shopping- but that only really has data from big box retailers that sell things online. You can check on a delivery app, but they will charge you a delivery fee which would far surpass the price of the lemonade itself and you have to wait minutes or hours for it to arrive.

After moving to New York in 2020 I realized lots of businesses had the problem of not having an easy way to post their products online- and the solutions that do exist cater to higher end or more tech savvy partners, or there are delivery apps that take substantial margins away from the retailers or charge you for delivery. There's Yelp for restaurant menus and such, but what about at a local cornerstore or deli? What about a clothing store? Also Yelp has the issue of pitting store owners against the platform- which gives them free publicity but also forces them to maintain their profile and fend off low ratings, creating an air of hostility between the two.

Covid seems to have been the perfect time to launch such a service but I didn't have the development chops to pull it off until recently. Now the market seems to be crowded with competitors. Just yesterday- a billionaire VC named Keith Rabois who founded Opendoor and just exited with a $16 billion IPO announced on Twitter a mysterious new company he was hiring for called "Openstore" but didn't provide any more info.

Alt Text

When I've had good ideas in the past I usually notice someone else makes it within a year or two of me having the idea so that could be it- either way- the race is on to develop it :)

Let me know what you think of this beta version of the homepage :)

As always please feel free to add me on the Twitters

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
masharsamue profile image
Samuel Mashar

deployed link not working

Collapse
 
jwhubert91 profile image
James Hubert

Thanks Samuel. Just fixed it.

Collapse
 
developeratul profile image
Minhazur Rahman Ratul

Great post!! - Can write about how to send email using javascript? Like when anyone will subscribe with email, then my back-end will send an email to the user email?

Collapse
 
jwhubert91 profile image
James Hubert

Hi Ratul! Thanks for the question :)

You can accomplish this with Node, or with a plugin. My personal website jameshubert.com uses a really nice Javascript plugin for this called emailjs. I wrote about this here:

dev.to/jwhubert91/project-22-of-10...

Collapse
 
developeratul profile image
Minhazur Rahman Ratul

Thanks brother :)