DEV Community

Cover image for Task-Force Week 3
Christophe Kwizera
Christophe Kwizera

Posted on

Task-Force Week 3

This week we bigged deeper into effective communication, where we looked at different cultures and how to bring the best from each (inter-cultural communication).

StereoTypes

SteroeTypes Illustration

I was aware of different cultures but I hadn't really considered how it could affect a formal or non-formal relationship between people.

My parents raised me to be accepting of people no matter their appearance. If I had some stereotypes (a belief about a particular category of people) feelings towards, I should always be open to change, commit to knowing the person first, and always focus on what makes people similar to people different.

This is done by putting yourself in someone else's shoes and thinking for a second (how would it make me feel if the tables were turned). after that emotional step in the right direction, it leads you to some good topics and away from harmful conversation topics.

when you make the other party feel valid and safe, he/she will open up, and you'll both have effective communication.
When you get past the stereotypes barrier, Then you can get quickly to the best next part about sharing your information.

Values

Core Values

Your values are the things that you believe are important in the way you live and work.
Value is a big part of people, some are tough them from the childhood to their current age. values (should) determine your priorities, and, deep down, they're probably the measures you use to tell if your life is turning out the way you want it to.

When the things that you do and the way you behave match your values, life is usually good – you're satisfied and content. But when these don't align with your personal values, that's when things feel... wrong. This can be a real source of unhappiness.

In these types of situations, understanding your values can really help. When you know your own values, you can use them to make decisions about how to live your life, and you can answer questions like these:
What job should I pursue?

  • Should I accept this promotion?
  • Should I start my own business?
  • Should I compromise, or be firm with my position?
  • Should I follow tradition, or travel down a new path?

So, take the time to understand the real priorities in your life, and you'll be able to determine the best direction for you and your life goals !

Top comments (0)