DEV Community

KaelinBullock
KaelinBullock

Posted on

Getting a Job as a Software Engineer

 After almost two years at my first job out of college I have learned many things and used almost nothing I learned in school.  The most important thing I learned how to motivate myself and teach myself new skills. If you are in college you need to learn the basics and have a good understanding of at least one language.

 College is a good way to get a job.  I went to college, and I got an interview through a college class.  In my senior year of college we had multiple visitors.  Some were happy to give an interview to anyone who asked. Others were judges of projects we presented, and they gave opportunities based on performance.  Friends cans also help, because receive monetary rewards for successful hires. 

 There are people at my company who do not have degrees.  You can get hired with only certifications. Starting as an intern and improving yourself can also get you a job, but you might have a hard time getting an internship if you are not in college, and you don't have certifications.  Some people go to boot camps.  Honestly boot camps in theory are one of the best ways to get a job without spending four years at college, but many boot camp hires under perform. This seems to be heavily dependent on the person, because there are people with no college degree that our perform veterans.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

Hello @kaelinbullock

Congrats for writing your first post.

It's not really lisible though, do you maybe have Markdown blockquotes that you want to remove? I'm talking about this kind of stuff

github.com/adam-p/markdown-here/wi...

Also you may want to bookmmark DEV's editor guide

dev.to/p/editor_guide

Collapse
 
kaelinbullock profile image
KaelinBullock

Thanks