DEV Community

Katie Liu
Katie Liu

Posted on • Updated on

First post - Introduction and Open Source exploration

Hi! My name is Katie Liu, a third year student at Seneca College. This blog will showcase the work I do this term in my Open Source Development course, as well as any work I do for my personal open source projects :)

I am very excited to have the chance to use the programming skills I have learned in the last two years of school and co-op to contribute to open source projects. Open source attracted me because it has so much potential to grow and be widely used due to the fact that it is free and it is open to everyone around the world.

This term I hope to be able to help identify and fix bugs in some open source projects. Specifically I would like to tackle project in the languages which I am proficient in, such as C++, Java, JavaScript, or Python. I also have an interest in projects that offer web solutions to small business owners or the general population.

A GitHub trending repo that I researched on is called astro. Astro is similar to an SSG, but it is built for speed! It can build static websites with popular JavaScript frameworks (React, Vue, or use multiple frameworks) while shipping no JavaScript to the browser. You can use JavaScript frameworks to build your site, and astro renders them to static html at build time. If you have a component that is fully interactive with JavaScript, there are multiple ways to render and hydrate it at client-side. If a component is low priority, you and wait until the browser is idle before rendering it. You can also hold off on rendering a component that is lower down in the page, until it is visible to the user.

I picked astro because it has similarities to the SSG which I will be developing the coming two weeks. I may even do research on whether I can use astro to create my SSG.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to DEV!