DEV Community

Kauress
Kauress

Posted on

Advice please: VR training/learning (C++ || C#)

Hi, I'd appreciate it if I can get a little guidance on a question that I've been researching for a while now. I am planning on picking up/learning a game engine to produce VR content. I have been reading a bit on both. My choice of the game engine is based on:

  1. C++ or C# : I was leaning towards Unreal Engine 4 (UE4) due its choice of using C++, even though they have blueprints (flow-chart type pick and drop code pieces)

  2. Employability: Unity wins this one which means learning C#

  3. Graphics/Design: I'd like to use design assets to start off with rather than make my own.

  4. Content: most of my content will be learning/education based so I need a mix of gamefication + lessons(lecture or store style)

  5. Future use cases of C++ and C#: I know C++ is used in machine learning, any use cases of C# (besides .NET framework)

The engines I've narrowed down are:

  1. UE4
  2. Unity
  3. Godot

Any other advice/comments/suggestions are HUGELY appreciated! Thanks

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
absinthetized profile image
Matteo Nunziati

C++ is the election language in the embedded world and in some niche high perf scenarios.
C# is used for everything else but currently on windows only.

They are 2 different worlds both with plenty of job opportunities.

Also mind that you can easily bind c++ with c# (via an export "C" interface)

Collapse
 
kauresss profile image
Kauress

Thanks!