DEV Community

Kausali Lama
Kausali Lama

Posted on

Nevertheless, Kausali Coded

I began/continue to code because...

Since a very young age I thought I wanted to become a dentist or a nurse or at least I thought I wanted to work in a healthcare field. I grew up in an Asian community where my society programmed my mind in such a way that made me think "Since I am a woman, I should be in a medical field if I want to be taken seriously". I studied Biology, Chemistry, physics and Math throughout my high school. When I came to the States I decided to pursue my undergrad in Health Services Administration. Luckily at that time I got to work as a Helpdesk technician, which opened my eyes in terms of what tech meant for any organization. I wasn't coding at that time and I for sure didn't even know what coding was. But I was always curious about how apps were built, and how codes work to create something. There were moments when I wanted to change my major to CS but I never had the confidence to make that change. Because I was scared to fail and I was scared that I wouldn’t be successful. Every time I thought I wanted to change my major I had Millions of thoughts going in my mind. “What if I can’t do it? What if this is a wrong decision” Because of all the “What ifs” it took me until I was in my senior year to realize that I wanted to learn to code and by then it was too late for me to change my Major. After my Graduation, I worked for this Amazing Company as a Service Desk Analyst. After few months, I was working very indirectly with developers and I was very much fascinated with what they were doing behind the scenes. My passion to learn to code grew even more. I was doing well at my job and I was in the verge of getting promotion but this one time I decided to follow my passion. So, quit my job to join a coding bootcamp. It was by far one of the best decisions I ever made. Soon I was building games and web apps on my spare time. It opened many doors for me and that’s one of the reason I am here today sharing my story

I want to brag about...

... My role as Software Engineer!! I am learning and growing everyday as a developer and I absolutely love it!!

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

If you want to code or want to learn how to code just go for it. Do what you are passionate about and take risk and ohh don't forget to enjoy the journey.

Top comments (0)