DEV Community

K
K

Posted on

React From Zero

TL;DR Here is the repository :)

I was rather sick and still am a bit, so no post last week. :(

But today I updated my small React tutorial: React From Zero

My idea was to introduce people with code and comments to React, without ES2015 features and without too much compiler magic.

It uses JSX, but I added an older version of Babel, that can translate JSX to JS in the browser, also the first three lessons explain how all of this works without JSX and how switching to JSX helps (in my opinion) to clear up the code a bit.

Every chapter is a web page that runs a simple React app in the browser without the need of a web server.

I now use the latest React version and also updated the third party libs.

Refs are now explained with function-refs and I also added a callback version of setState() with a bit of explanation.

Top comments (0)