DEV Community

Otoniel Reyes
Otoniel Reyes

Posted on • Originally published at otonielreyes.com on

No more to-do lists please

We need to start creating real coding projects right now.

Everybody knows we, in some random moment got stuck, especially when you really want to build something cool, memorable, useful, the next big thing, but have no idea on what the freaking hell you can do.

This happens to me more than I really want to admit. It’s kind of disappointing to have the knowledge, have the tools, but don’t know what to do or where to go.

Clock’s clicking around and time’s running, but you are still stuck in what app should I create, or sometimes you already have the idea, but can’t figure out how to implement that idea.

Today, I want to share with you some of my experiences on this topic.

Many years ago, I got stuck. In simple terms, I’d be starting to learn python and wanted some ideas to program, and get better at coding. I decided to open up Google Chrome and type ‘coding projects ideas’ and hit enter. Around 10 minutes later, found a post in a forum about ‘Beginner project ideas’, and were not that bad, actually, I liked it.

So, I just copied-and-pasted in a blank text file and dropped it on my desktop, and start building all those one by one. A week later, every ‘project’ was finished.

Next, I just decide to try again the same thing, and guess what, The other projects I found were almost exactly the same, just a dirty copy of the book where the first group of projects was extracted from.

Several days have passed, and all the ‘project ideas’ I see are the same, that’s why I’m writing this right now. We need to address a difference, be creative, create real and useful software we feel proud of.

To reach my point, I want to say this:

It’s the perfect time to stop doing the same shitty apps and start creating awesome masterpieces of software.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
portasynthinca3 profile image
porta

I strongly disagree. Completing a simple project is a great way to familiarize yourself with a new technology, framework or language. Even making a boring old ToDo app can teach you loads.

The value of small one-off projects lies not within those projects itself, but within the things that you learn whilst building them.