DEV Community

Kenneth Larsen
Kenneth Larsen

Posted on • Originally published at kennethlarsen.org on

Rust for Frontend Developers: Modules

Not that long ago I decided to start learning Rust. While it has a lot of useful resources online and a very friendly community there's still things that are weird to me. That's because Rust is a very different mental model than the frontend mental model I'm used to.

That means that things that are obvious to a lot of people are not obvious to me. So I'll try to document some of these things from the perspective of a frontend developer. This time on using modules.


With Javascript using imports or modules of any kind is fairly straight forward. If you have a very basic HTML page with a couple of JavaScript files you can add them all with a script tag.

If you have a more fancy setup you can import JavaScript files (or modules) like this:

require('cool-module') or even import { function } from 'cool-module'.

If you use a framework like Ember.js there's a standard of separating code that also goes beyond these module imports. Components are isolated chunks of code that can be invoked like this: <CoolComponent @arg="wow" />.

The point is that there is a lot of ways of separating code on the frontend to make sure your codebase is manageable.

Modules with Rust

While trying to make my Rust clone of Ember-CLI I quickly discovered that the main() function was getting out of hand. I wanted to split the code into separate files to make sure that I could maintain all of the features I wanted to add.

There are a few things to keep in mind here.

Where's my npm install?

The good news is that there is an equivalent system in place for distributing and using packages. In the world of Rust that's called Crates. Crates is the registry of the Rust community. To consume packages from this registry or publishing you have to use the cargo package manager.

If you want a package installed globally like npm install -g cool-module then you'll run cargo install cool-module.

But what if you want to install a package for your project? I'm honestly not sure if there is an equivalent to npm install --save-dev cool-module since all documentation is proposing something different.

The documented approach is to add the package name and version to the project's Cargo.toml. This file is the equivalent of package.json. Then when you build your project it will fetch the dependencies.

Now you have to remember to import it where you need it like this:

use package_name::module_name{function_name}.

Separating Concerns

Back to my main issue. I wanted to split out the code into different modules that I could import when I needed it.

My project is currently like this:

  • main.rs containing the basics to run the CLI tool and process input from the user.
  • new.rs containing everything related to the new command for generating new Ember projects.
  • utils.rs for utility-like function such as creating a progress bar and replacing placeholder values with user inputted names.

First I saw that it was possible to use the same import style from the package manager but for local files. I wanted to use the create_new_application() function from new.rs.

In main.rs I tried use rember::new::{create_new_application}

But quickly got an error saying that rember::new wasn't found.

It turns out that these internal modules have to be declared first. Since I was building a CLI tool they had to go in a file named lib.rs like this:

mod new;

This made the new.rs available for me to use in main.rs.

Now I had another problem. I wanted to use a function from utils.rs in new.rs and just assumed that I had to use the exact same approach. But now I got the error with module not found.

I still don't quite understand why but it looks like that for modules not imported in main.rs they have to use super instead of the package name rember. So in new.rs it looks like this:

use super::utils::{create_progress_bar}; instead of use rember::utils::{create_progress_bar};.

Top comments (0)