DEV Community

KENTO⚽️XR Engineer😎
KENTO⚽️XR Engineer😎

Posted on

How to merge two repositories with history?

Intro

I faced a situation that I would like to merge two repositories and keep to remain these histories.

I figured out it, so I write the way down on this article so I won't forget.

I will use Fork(Git client) but it is possible command line too.

Step1

First, I created two sample repositories and just kind of some commits.

A repository named "MergeTest1".
Image description

A repository named "MergeTest2".
Image description

Step2

This time, I will merge "MergeTest2" to "MergeTest1".

On the condition of what you have already had two repositories at local, a next step is add another repository as new remote repository.

And fetch all remote, checkout another repository.

Image description

Step3

A final step is merge.
A base is master(MergeTest1), so checkout master(MergeTest1) and try to merge master2(MergeTest2).

This time, I deliberately prepared conflict.

A below GIF is a resolving step.

Image description

If you avoid conflict, I recommned to evacuate your file at an other folder in advance.

Other Resources

Gitで2つのリポジトリを履歴を残したままマージする方法
Git MergeでConflictが発生したときの対処 - プログラミング初心者がアーキテクトっぽく語る

Top comments (0)