DEV Community

Cover image for Before the Boot camp...
kgil60
kgil60

Posted on

Before the Boot camp...

Hey there! This is my first blog on this wonderful site (not sarcasm I've been here for only today and found many intriguing blogs), and I wanted to use this opportunity to log my experience, mood, and expectations for the future before I start this rigorous learning process.

Firstly, I'd like to say a little about myself. My name's Kenny, and I'm currently a student at Flatiron School, going through their software engineering program. Obviously, you can assume I'm crazy into everything tech. Gaming rigs, audio hardware, you name it! I also really enjoy listening to and writing music, mainly punk and metal varieties (think Ice Nine Kills, Crown the Empire, and 2000's Fall Out Boy vibes), and I'm kind of a theatre nerd as well. I helped build the sets for my high school theatre company, so you can see why I chose engineering instead of analysis, I like building things from the ground up.

Now, enough of me, here's more me!

Going into this boot camp, I only know the basics of HTML5, CSS, and JavaScript thanks to the projects I had to complete before the program started. But my skills thus far don't go any farther than creating a poor looking website that only has "on click" event listeners. I plan to constantly update said website with anything new I learn, and I'm incredibly excited to do so.

One thing the staff at Flatiron told us during orientation today was that this will be a very tough few months, but also very rewarding. Now, I'm no wimp when it comes to a challenge, but getting stuck in a rut will 9 times out of 10 quickly send me into the "dark swamp of despair," as the school likes to call it. It's here I lose all or most motivation to keep trying to get myself out, and I'm using this time to work on myself and develop the necessary skills to keep myself out of this place. I fully expect to end up in the swamp at least a few times in the future but I'm not letting that discourage me. TECHNOLOGY IS MY PASSION DAG NABBIT!!!

I'd love if you joined me on this journey and experience the changes I go through in real time :) My PM's are open, so feel free to ask me anything! Anyways, I'll let you go now. Cy@ soon!

-Kenny

Top comments (0)