DEV Community

Cover image for !! Coding Fest !! Hacktoberfest :)
khush
khush

Posted on

!! Coding Fest !! Hacktoberfest :)

Every year Digital ocean organizes a worldwide open source Competition. In which all the Developers/beginners or experts, everyone is eligible for this Fest. And this fest gives the immense experience on how to contribute to open-source projects.
For beginners, this fest organizes events with great leaders in the field of open-source. Due to this Pandemic, all events and this fest work online, So everyone, from anywhere can join this fest and get the Rewards too.
Simply, Make 4 Pull Request or as many as you can, keep in mind that those PRs must be included in the hacktober fest list and it must be valid. Don't spam the PRs

Steps

1. Register

Register yourself for the fest on the Hacktober Fest held by Digital Oceans and connect your GitHub account to the fest.

2. Join

Don't forget to join the Discord Channel for being aware of all the rules and updates.

3. Attend Events

Register yourself for the different events held in the fest. and this would be a good chance to clear all the confusion related to Fest at a time. Because chasing the same goal is easier with like-minded persons.

4. Finding the Repository

Find the perfect Repository/Project for contribution. these steps take time according to your level of understanding of the Environment of Github, highly recommend the course on GitHub from Coursera.
Searching the repository on GitHub by using hacktober tags and after finding the Repo. Be polite to the maintainers and firstly asked them about your contribution and don't forget to read about the Code of Conduct

5. Start contributing

Start doing work on Different projects as soon as possible. But it's better to enjoy throughout the month.

6. Make PRs/Pull Request

last year 4 Pull Request for qualifying this fest and get the Rewards. Rewards include a T-shirt. but it'll only available if the PRs is eligible

Note: information can be changed as per the different years.

Tip: Join the Discord Chanel for updates of any rules.


My Story with Hacktober fest 2020

Alt Text

I've found this fest while scrolling Instagram feeds. I've registered myself for the fest and all goes good. I've found the repositories according to my beginner's level and start contributing which turns out my biggest mistake. I've made 5 PRs in which one is eligible just because only one repo contains hacktober fest tags. Then I'll again start finding the repo and then I started attending the events in my time zone which helps me to solve my issues related to git command, terminals command, etc. Due to this pandemic most, people make Spam PRs which makes a bigger challenge for the maintainers for solving this issue the organizers reduces the benchmark for getting the Swags worldwide and it sets to 45,000 all over the world and they also added another Tag "hacktober-fest accepted" for the maintainers i.e those PRs having "hacktober-fest accepted" tag those are valid PRs. rest is not, this information I got from the Discord Channel. And all the PRs that made it must be eligible i.e means you need to do some valid work on the project. and After made 4 valid PRs I've got a mail that you qualify for the fest, Redeem your Reward Now!! and after 3 months of waiting, I've got my Reward.

Top comments (0)