DEV Community

Cover image for Participated for the first time in HacktoberFest 2020 .
KHUSHI JAIN
KHUSHI JAIN

Posted on

Participated for the first time in HacktoberFest 2020 .

I'm delighted to share my first open source acheivement as a 1st year college student.
It's fortunate that I participated and completed the Hacktoberfest 2020 challenge presented by DigitalOcean.
It was a great opportunity for me and could be for you as well.
This short journey was very simple yet an enthusiastic one.
I would love to share my experience to all those beginners there , So here I start :
I'm a zealous person who's always been trying to endeavour what I love which is this field of computer science .
So , I was just surfing this youtube feed one night in the month of late September and found one video related to hacktoberfest 2020 .
With zero open source contribution exercise :
After watching the video , I created my github profile and installed git and watched several youtube videos to learn how it has to be done .
I made 6 pull requests and contributed in them.
I had no clue then If it's gonna be approved or not but still one thing which was in mind that no matter I win or not ,
" atleast I learned about using github and about open source contributions "
so there was nothing to lose .
Fortunately , after 14 days of review period , my contributions got approved by the maintainer and marked as completed.
lesson learnt : no matter whether you win or not , whether you are doing it for the first time , flush off your fears and just grab the chance and DO IT .

Hacktoberfest #DigitalOcean

Top comments (0)