DEV Community

Kiana
Kiana

Posted on

CSS fundamentals

CSS is my favorite programming blackhole to find myself in. It's easy to get lost for hours in the backend of a project that by the end of the day leaves you feeling tired and mentally drained. CSS is something I could easily
sit and mess around with all day and still be excited about. I think it has to do with the fact there is an immediate result to see and can make your projects feel real and ready to launch even if there isn’t a single line written in the
backend. I love the fact I can create the smallest color, font, layout, or margins/padding changes on something simple like a button and create a completely different feel for the user.

On one of my first experiences with using CSS was in a coding workshop that I had a challenge to showcase what I had learned over the course. Things like linking sites, rendering photos, hover functions and more HTML and CSS. When working on this challenge I was definitely more focused on making sure I was executing the functionalities rather than using CSS properties to my full advantage. Since my time at Flatiron and actually learning the full benefits of CSS, looking back on that project I realized there were so many advantages that I could have implicated.

Rather than just using CSS as a styling option for font sizes and colors, which I did at the time, I've learned about using classes to render less code in my HTML and making it lightweight and easier to maintain and update. The accessibility of CSS gives more consistency in design elements like formatting and layout. Going forward in other projects I try to use CSS to my full advantage in the presentation and structure of my projects.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
arvindpdmn profile image
Arvind Padmanabhan

Good to see your journey with learning CSS. If you want to know more about CSS Selectors, visit devopedia.org/css-selectors