DEV Community

Kaleb
Kaleb

Posted on

My experience with Python

Hello all readers, Thank you for taking the time to read this blog! We will discuss Python and my experience as a FlatIron student learning it for the 2nd time. I had a Python class a few years ago in a community college class and it was exciting. Python Is my favorite coding language so far. The options are endless and exciting, all the way from coding machines to just a small birthday tracker linked to SQL. My project was making a birthday tracker, We all know your mom/dad/partner has gotten upset if you forget their birthday. Learning Python was challenging due to Classes and iteration being a lot different from JavaScript, Except once I learned ipdb or breakpoint or using print to see what's happening it helped so much. Learning JavaScript first taught me that console.log/print shows you what that data is and helps code through it. Seeing what you are working on makes coding 100x easier. Python will be the language I use to make more projects after school. My next project is going to be a Discord bot! I want to make something that you use ! or . followed by something that will run my code and return what I want. I want the bot to return random quotes that have been said before from our friend group. When something funny happens we quote it in the channel and once a year we go back and re-read that and reminisce about that moment we all shared. An easy .randomquote in a discord chat channel that returns a random quote wouldn't be too hard but very fun and exciting. Python makes me want to be creative and nothing against JavaScript/react I feel those have a lot of use for websites/CSS and more except Python has more value to me at the moment for the projects I have planned In the future.

Top comments (0)