DEV Community

Cover image for Sidekick Browser (Bite-size Article)
koshirok096
koshirok096

Posted on

Sidekick Browser (Bite-size Article)

Introduction

Today I write an article about "Sidekick" web browser. For internet activities, I use Chrome or Brave as primary browsers, but I recently discovered Sidekick and started using it as a secondary browser. Compared to other browsers that have been around for a while, Sidekick offers unique and innovative features, making it a relatively great user experiences. Despite being launched in November 2020, it has already gained momentum and adoption by major IT companies like Microsoft, Uber, Slack, Meta, and others.


Image description


For the main features of Sidekick, I believe you can find them by searching on Google, so I won't go into detail about them in this article. However, today I'd like to introduce you to some features that I particularly enjoy.

Place apps in the sidebar

Image description

You can set up frequently used apps in the sidebar for quick access. Before I start using Sidekick, I often used standalone apps by launching multiple ones whenever needed. However, switching back and forth between the browser and apps was a hassle. With this browser, I can manage them all in one place. The design is user-friendly and visually clear, making it convenient.

Furthermore, each app can isolate sessions within the app or switch between different accounts within the same app (although I don't personally use this feature, I think it can be quite handy for others).

However, some features available in the free plan is limited, so heavy users may not be satisfied without upgrading. I'm currently using it for free as a secondary option in a limited environment, so I'm quite satisfied. However, I may consider switching to a paid plan in the future.

Image description

Chromium-based

Since Sidekick is based on Chromium, you can use Chrome extensions. I usually rely on many extensions, so I'm delighted that this browser supports them. Also, in terms of user experience, Chrome-based browsers are generally stable in any situation, providing a sense of security (in my opinion).

The most important point is that being Chromium-based makes it easy for Chrome users to transition. Currently, many people use Chrome browser, so transitioning to another non-chromium browser can be challenging in reality. However, to change to Sidekick is easy to transition, allowing users to retain their extensions and usage environment to some extent while also benefiting from Sidekick's unique features.

Image description

Other features

In addition to the features mentioned here, the paid plan (at the time of writing) also includes features such as Ad Block and Split View as standard. Furthermore, it seems that account synchronization is also possible, which is excellent for those who use different computers at work and home or switch between laptops and desktops.

I vaguely remember that many features were available in the free version before, but now it seems that many features are only available in the paid version. So, it would be a good idea to try the free version first and if you find the user experience suitable, consider upgrading to the paid version.

Conclusion

I used to have the fixed idea that Chrome was the best modern browser. However, since learning about Sidekick, I realized that there are various other options available.

While I won't go into detail about other browsers this time, I've also been experimenting with web browser called sigmaOS recently, and I find it to be quite unique (I'll introduce it on dev.to if I get the chance in the future).

I encourage everyone to explore and find the best browser that suits them, and enjoy their internet experience.

Thank you for reading :)

Top comments (0)