DEV Community

Cover image for DO Hackathon: Official Submission
Dennis Krasnov
Dennis Krasnov

Posted on

DO Hackathon: Official Submission

What I built

I built a portfolio website showcasing my skills and experience. Check it out at denniskrasnov.com!

Category Submission:

Personal Site/Portfolio

App Link

denniskrasnov.com

Screenshots

Alt Text

Alt Text

Description

denniskrasnov.com is a portfolio website showcasing my skills and experience.

Features custom art and branding for a personal touch.

I designed the website myself, with an equal focus on performance, design, and accessibility.

See my first post in this series to find out how how I designed my portfolio, my second post to see how it's deployed, and my third post to see deployment benchmarks.

Link to Source Code

github.com/Dennis-Krasnov/Portfolio

Permissive License

MIT License

Background

(What made you decide to build this particular app? What inspired you?)

Building a personal brand is important for my career. In 2020, an online presence is non-negotiable, and a portfolio website allows me to showcase my skills and experience in a way that is not possible via the traditional resume format.

How I built it

(How did you utilize DigitalOcean’s App Platform? Did you learn something new along the way? Pick up a new skill?)

My website is written in Svelte for its simplicity and performance, while Sapper compiles my website into a static bundle. See my first post for more details.

DigitalOcean's App platform can host and distribute the static bundle on a content delivery network, which simplifies devops and minimizes latencies. Check out my second and third posts in this series for more info :)

Additional Resources/Info

Deploy to DO

You can use the Deploy to DigitalOcean button to deploy this repo directly to App Platform :)

Top comments (0)