DEV Community

Kristophe Sankar
Kristophe Sankar

Posted on

Developing For ThemeForest?

Hey everyone!

Looking for some advice! A couple years ago I started selling stock audio on AudioJungle as a hobby. I enjoy sound design, so I thought, why not turn a hobby into passive income? Every so often I get a couple sales, so that worked out well enough for me. I had initially thought about doing this with HTML templates, as I am a web developer after all, but never got around to actually spending the time to get it done. Recently though I've been thinking a lot about fixing that.

I want to start with a simple HTML/CSS one page template for now. That said, being new to the theming, I don’t want to put out out garbage and be rejected after putting in a lot of work (learned that the hard way on AudioJungle). Also, is plain HTML/CSS the way to go in 2019? I'm OK at React but thought I would start with the most basic thing I could do so that I develop a workflow. So I ask the question. What are some good resources you all use when developing a new template? This could be related to design, coding standards, file organisation or anything else relevant. Does anyone has a good roadmap for getting started?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
gilbishkosma profile image
Gilbish

Hiii, have you submitted any template on themeforest?

Collapse
 
kristophesankar profile image
Kristophe Sankar

Sadly I never really got around to doing it.