DEV Community

Cover image for Employment opportunities in Chile for software developers and engineers
krlz
krlz

Posted on

Employment opportunities in Chile for software developers and engineers

Hello everyone! I am researching how to get a job as a software developer in Chile, but so far I haven't had any success. I would like to ask for the community's help in obtaining more information and recommendations on how to contact Chilean companies.

I have noticed that to be successful in job searching, it is important to have experience and contacts in the Chilean technology sector. I have been recommended to participate in online communities and in-person events to establish contacts. I have found that DevsChile and Meetup Santiago are good options, but there may be more.

Chile is one of the most prosperous and stable countries in Latin America, with a growing economy and many multinational companies and startups that I admire. This means that there are many opportunities for software developers and engineers.

Image description

The information and communication technology (ICT) sector in Chile has grown at an average annual rate of 10.6% over the last five years, according to the Chilean government. Additionally, the government is investing in the technology industry and supporting startups with various initiatives, which means that there are many opportunities for software developers and engineers.

Santiago is the main technology center in Chile, with many multinational companies and startups. There are also many universities and educational institutions that focus on education and training in technology. Furthermore, there is a growing community of technology companies and startups in important cities such as Concepción and Valparaíso.

Image description

Lately, I have been focusing on job searching on these 4 websites:

  • Laborum
  • Trabajando
  • Computrabajo
  • Getonbrd

On these websites, I was able to search for jobs by location, industry, and experience level, as well as set up alerts to receive notifications of new jobs.

Despite having over 10 years of work experience in the industry, I have not been able to establish contact with some companies, which is strange to me. Therefore, I would appreciate any additional help or information the community can provide to improve my job search in the technology sector in Chile.

Here are some questions I would like help answering:

  1. What are the most valued skills and experiences by employers in Chile for a software developer?
  2. What other communities and events are useful for connecting with other software developers and engineers in Chile?
  3. What other tools and resources can be useful for finding jobs in the technology sector in Chile?

Although I am Chilean and have dual nationality, I know that my experience in the country is limited. Therefore, any additional information or recommendation you can provide will be very helpful in achieving my goal of getting a job as a software developer in Chile.

Useful resources:

Top comments (0)