DEV Community

Krrish Dhaneja
Krrish Dhaneja

Posted on

Linux from Scratch on WSL2?

Hi DevsπŸ‘‹πŸ», hope so y'all are well, so in this post I just wanna ask that does WSL2 fulfill the requirements for building Linux distro by taking reference from Linux from Scratch book? Cuz am on Windows and running Linux on VMware is slow and sluggish! So, is it possible to build Linux from Scratch on wsl2? Any help would be appreciated!!

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
kovarpavel profile image
Pavel Kovar

Hello,
I don't see any reason to build Linux from scratch under WLS. What is your reason to do this? Why not use Ubuntu or other available distribution?

Collapse
 
krrishdhaneja profile image
Krrish Dhaneja

I wrote in post that I've a Windows laptop and running Ubuntu using VMware or virtualbox is slow and sluggish, so that is why I was asking for this!

Collapse
 
kovarpavel profile image
Pavel Kovar

Well, I am sorry if I misunderstand it, I understand that you are running windows on a laptop and Ubuntu in VM Ware.
Anyway, Linux from scratch is not an option under WSL, you need to use one of the distros supported by Microsoft.

Thread Thread
 
krrishdhaneja profile image
Krrish Dhaneja

N. P. Maybe Microsoft may support those features in WSL3 or 4?

Collapse
 
redeyeddog profile image
Christopher Rollings

Am i missing somthing here.. The WSL system can be setup to use Ubuntu.. and its meant to be a whole Linux subsystem within windows.

so I'm guessing yes.