DEV Community

Cover image for Cultivating Confidence: Essential Steps for Junior Developers
Ludivine A
Ludivine A

Posted on • Updated on

Cultivating Confidence: Essential Steps for Junior Developers

Photo from Mailchimp on Unsplash

There is something that has always been a challenge for me, and it’s building confidence. I have always been a shy kid, always doubting myself. When I started my studies, I met teachers telling me how bad I was, and that I didn’t belong in that field. I had a hard time not taking their word for it.

The thing is, I wasn’t bad. I simply didn’t believe in myself enough, because I didn’t have the keys to build my confidence. I was working with technologies that didn’t speak to me. We were asked to code complex, unknown board games in Java, whose rules we didn’t even understand. My work and my speed were always compared to others as if we were in a constant hackathon.

I felt discouraged, and I felt like a failure. When I think about it, I could have listened to them. I could have stopped my (very short) software engineering career there and then.

Oh boy, what a mistake that would have been!

As I have grown both personally and professionally, I am excited to share my tips on how to build confidence.

Practice regularly

Practicing is important. I didn’t like to work with Java and PHP, so I started learning Javascript by doing some personal projects. It was an eye-opener. It made me realize that I was unstoppable if I worked on things I liked, with technologies I enjoyed.

Those projects were also a way for me to show my skills on my portfolio to future recruiters. Two birds, one stone.

Set achievable goals

You may have tried to work on some personal projects, but you have not been able to see them through. It’s because you’re doing too much too fast.

Don’t start working on huge projects head front. Break them down into smaller, manageable tasks. Free project management tools such as Trello or Click Up will help you to set clear and attainable goals. You will be able to measure your progress and build confidence.

Change your mindset from “I still have all those things to do” to “I’ve already done all this !”

Embrace challenges

Don’t stay in your comfort zone. This applies not only to your professional life but also to your personal life.

Don’t say no when you are asked to do something you have never done before. Don’t say no because you feel like you are not ready to take on a bigger task. Do you think all the successful people in the world only did things when they felt they were ready?

Challenges and opportunities are at the foundation of an incredible career.

By saying yes, you will expand your skills, thus reinforcing your confidence.

Celebrate your successes

Negative self-talk was a huge problem in my life. I would tell myself “I did it because it was easy, not because I am good.”

And then I realized that every win, big or small, was to be celebrated.

There will always be people that are faster, smarter than me. People have already done what I did before and that’s ok. The important thing is that I did it and can be proud of myself.

And by celebrating your success, you can also take time to reflect on your progress! Would you have been able to do what you did 2, 3 4 months ago?

Seek feedback

If there is one thing I hate in our field, it’s ego. Criticism of your work (as long as it is constructive) is a blessing. You can identify what you do right, and what you can improve.

We all have something to learn from others. Don’t take criticism as proof of your incompetence or an insult.

We can never grow if we never realize we are making a mistake.

You can even write all the positive feedback you receive in a file or a notebook. If you ever start doubting yourself again, read your notes !

Taking these comments into account will boost your career and your confidence.

Share your knowledge

If there is one thing to take away from this article, it’s this: you only understand something if you can explain it in simple terms.

Teach others what you know. Share your knowledge online or through mentoring. It will help to build both your confidence and your skills.

Include continuous learning in your routine

Things go quickly on the internet. Try to stay alert and aware of the latest news and trends. You can easily become a has-been and your career will suffer as a result.

The idea is not to be an expert on every new framework or technology. Look at a different news source, subscribe to newsletters, or surf through daily.dev

The more you learn the more confident with your skills you are going to get.


And there you have it! I trust that these valuable tips will prove as beneficial to you as they have been for me. Feel free to share your tips and insights in the comments section, and don’t forget to follow me for future articles covering a wide range of topics, including tech and lifestyle!

Remember that confidence is a journey, and with perseverance and determination, you will be able to reach new heights in your career as a junior developer.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
deepnz profile image
Deepak N • Edited

glad you didn't give up, and found your path! Funny enough came to your post from the PHPWeekly letter

Collapse
 
lachouri profile image
Ludivine A

Thank you very much !!