DEV Community

Lara Martín 👩‍💻
Lara Martín 👩‍💻

Posted on

Nevertheless, Lara Martà n 👩”💻 Coded

I began coding because...

My husband is software developer and I always wanted to know what did he do at work. One day he tried to explain to me some concepts but I didn't get it. Later he suggested I could take an online course to learn basic programming. I loved it so much I knew I wanted to learn more.

I don't have a background in IT, in fact I studied Biology. In 2013 I took some very basic introductory courses to programming in Python. That motivated me to start a masters in Biotechnology, which I did remotely. Once I finished the masters I didn't know what to do because I didn't like it, it was too focused on statistics and very little in programming. That was when I started doing Android.

First I joined the local Android Study Jam organized by Women Techmakers, where I did my first app and learned java for the first time. After that I did the Android Basics Nanodegree which I finished last October.

I'm currently hacking on...

I continue learning Android. I got a scholarship from Udacity to do the Associate Android Developer Fast Track, a program design to pass the Associate Android Developer Certification Exam from Google.

I'm excited about...

I’m excited about Android and Mobile development. I love attending local meetups to learn more and meeting other Androids.

I’m excited about bringing diversity in tech.

But more excited about working as Android developer very soon! :)

My advice for other women who code is...

Code. Never let anyone to discourage you. If you’re a beginner, find a mentor. Having support will boost your learning. When you know enough, be a mentor and help others.

Top comments (0)