DEV Community

LaurentDev
LaurentDev

Posted on

Haskell, what's the point?

Haskell Logo
Last year, I tried to learn Haskell.
And it was really tough.
Sure, I've been coding for nearly 15 years and seen my fair share of languages. But this one... yes, it's tough.
To be totally honest, learning Haskell was a really good (but painful) experience.
My first attempt was a failure because there's a lot of barbaric concepts in this language (monads, monoids, functors, etc). And I started to learn all these straight away.

What did I expect?

Guess what?
You don't need them to get started.

So, as a good resolution for 2019, I came back to the basics and went head-on with some katas on codewars. And everything looks better. Sure, my solutions aren't optimal (and some of the recommended solutions are really hard to decipher).
But I think it's a good way to learn the basics and get slowly to the hard parts. Like Haskell Fast & Hard.
Soon, I will open again Happy Learn Haskell and Learn You a Haskell For Great Good.
But right now, Try Haskell has everything I need.

By the way, there remains one great mystery : what's the point of all this?
I know there are some examples of people using Haskell for industrial purposes (Facebook and its anti-spam tools, etc).

But why? How?
Can someone please help me on this?
Most likely, my next step will be to browse some github repos but there has to be a better way.

Can anyone help me on that?

Top comments (0)