DEV Community

Lee Kelleher
Lee Kelleher

Posted on

Lee's opinions on Umbraco + [topic]

Strong Opinions, Weakly Held

To open with a quote by Tim Minchin...

A famous bon mot asserts that opinions are like assholes, in that everyone has one. There is great wisdom in this, but I would add that opinions differ significantly from assholes, in that yours should be constantly and thoroughly examined.

Many years ago, I read a post on Jeff Atwood's Coding Horror blog, Strong Opinions, Weakly Held, this resonated with me; over my years with Umbraco, I'd racked up numerous MVPs, to the point where some may have perceived me as an authority on all things Umbraco; I'm not, I'm always learning - and whilst I can have strong opinions from time to time, I do try to keep an open mind about them, to be challenged and evolve accordingly.

Offering an unsolicited opinion on a particular topic can be a terrible idea. I mean, who cares about Silicon Valley boardroom power struggles, right? But then sometimes people do care, and want you to share your thoughts and insights - so at the request of my good friend @lottepitcher...

@leekelleher I have always thoroughly enjoyed, and benefitted from, hearing all the opinions that you have in and around the #umbraco ecosystem. So maybe a post per opinion that you have the desire and energy to share?! Off the top of my head: naming things (classes/projects/repos/nuget); coding styles for readability; why one should work in public (I mean you share a lot, why is that?!). That’s my two cents at least ☺️
https://umbracocommunity.social/@lotte/111448500067158203

This series of articles will offer my opinions on various aspects of working with Umbraco CMS, .NET development and the community package ecosystem.

Top comments (0)