DEV Community

Bryan Liao
Bryan Liao

Posted on • Originally published at bryanliao.dev

Recovering from burn out by building in public

Working in big tech really burned me out.

Honestly I thought I’d have been over it by now having been out of my company for 2 months now, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. Probably not realistic when I was on a slow burn for over a year. What sucks is that I still like programming and building things, at least the idea of it. Problem solving is fun, technology is fun, why aren’t I having any fun using technology to solve problems?

The weird combination of circumstances that I led me to quit my job made me question a lot of my identity as a developer, but part of why I quit was to work past my previous experienced.

Therefore, I’m trying something new. As an independent developer I represent myself and I have to keep myself accountable to improving not just my skills but my overall attitude towards programming. I’m starting a “Build in Public” series so I can do both in a more consistent (and public) way. Cheers! 🥂

Top comments (0)