DEV Community

Cover image for Glam Up My Markup: The Krustiest Form on Earth
Travis
Travis

Posted on

Glam Up My Markup: The Krustiest Form on Earth

This is a submission for DEV Challenge v24.03.20, Glam Up My Markup: Camp Activities

What I Built

I enjoyed this challenge and had a lot of fun.
Picking a theme proved to be the most challenging part of the process. I will explain the journey after the demo.

Journey

Alright, for this project, I wasn't quite certain what theme to go for. I began by creating a basic layout with some temporary images. Once the layout was looking good, I began considering the theme. However, I found myself struggling to decide between creating my unique theme or incorporating an existing one that others could relate to or feel nostalgic about.

After I replaced the temporary images, I found that I didn't enjoy the layout as much. I felt that I was overthinking the design and functionality. At that point, I realized, I needed to take a break and focus on other tasks. So, I decided to put the challenge on hold for two days until I worked out two themes to go off.

When I came back I realized the first theme was the issue, not the layout and functionality. I picked the theme you see now and got started. I removed the option to change the background at the same time as the activity images as it felt too much. I then needed to work out if the characters should be placed on the background or if I should control them, I picked the second option due to time and made the cloud images you see above the h1.

I wanted to continue refining the project but reminded myself of the goal to participate in a DEV community challenge and have fun. The goal was achieved!

I hope this form brings you some joy or nostalgia :)

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
devluc profile image
Devluc

Love the Simpsons theme. Great article

Collapse
 
lilxyzz profile image
Travis

Thank you :)