DEV Community

LiSilv.a
LiSilv.a

Posted on

Slide-out terminal window

When I need to a break from work/studying, I love to look around for new VS Code extensions or little tips and tricks to my development environment.

My new find is to make iTerm2 slide-out from the side of the screen instead of working on its own window.

It looks like this in my computer:

gif of iterm sliding from side of screen

Neat, right?

So, how do you do this? Simple, a keyboard shortcut.

Step 1

Go to iTerm2 preferences > keys and click "Create a dedicated hotkey window"

create a hotkey menu

This will open a new window where you can records the shortcut combination you want to use. Click ok when done and move to the next step.

I went with this symbol § as it's a single key on my keyboard and to be honest, I don't think I've ever used it.

record a hotkey menu

Step 2

Go to profiles > window and make super you are on the "Hotkey Window" option. Look for "Style" and pick from where you want iTerm to slide-out.

from where iterm slides menu

It's this simple.

Enjoy!

Top comments (0)