DEV Community

Lokeshvari Parmar
Lokeshvari Parmar

Posted on • Updated on

The Three Golden Rules to Safe Online Shopping

Ok, so if I have to admit it, I'm a bit of a shopaholic… I see a sale, I go in. As my life became more and more hectic after I graduated from law school, I had less time to hit the streets and go into my favorite stores like I used to do. But like a true-blue shopaholic, something as small as no spare time wasn't going to bring me down. So, I set aside a free Saturday afternoon and made the ultimate date with my laptop – a shopping date.

Being more of a in person kind of shopper, I didn't really want to get on the online shopping bandwagon. I couldn't imagine buying a dress or a pair of jeans without first trying them on or seeing how they felt. But as I started exploring all the online stores and websites, I was amazed at the selection.

Now, a few months into being an expert online shopper, I am definitely able to dole out some tips that will help you choose the best products online without having to worry that you might get your credit card information stolen or even worse – get clothes that don't fit right:

Sample The Buffet

When you see an online store that you really like and that has all those items you've been looking for, it could be tempting to buy everything seat once, but you shouldn't. Instead, buy one item that you want in order to test out its quality, size, wear and tear and everything else. That little sample is usually indicative of the quality of the items in that online store, so you can sample the buffet and choose the best selections in it for your next purchase.

Go social

Nowadays, you can't have a successful business without having a strong social media presence, and that's what most of the big online vendors have. If you come across an online store that you like and you want to make sure that it's not a scam designed to steal money and credit card info, check out its social media accounts. If the store is active, has daily posts and a lot of followers, you can rest assured that it is a legitimate store that isn't out to steal people's money.Go for Spotify hacked apk and Listen unlimited music on phone and tablet.

Rely on other people's experiences

Another great thing I came across when I got into online shopping was reviews that other people posted on stores and different products. These days, everyone has an opinion, and you definitely want to hear it when it comes to online shopping. While the opinions that people post can be helpful, there's nothing like an expert opinion to put your mind at ease and reassure you that you're not getting conned. Product reviews and product comparison websites, like information.com, have a team that has the best job ever – buying products online and testing them. From the best baby strollers (not quite for me just yet) through the best weight loss pills to the best camping tents, you can find professional reviews on just about anything and even click on a secure purchase link.

Being a shopaholic with no time is pretty hard, but with my laptop and the little rules I picked up along the way, my shopping advanced to the 21st century and it's great.

Top comments (0)