DEV Community

Lorna Jane Mitchell
Lorna Jane Mitchell

Posted on

Nevertheless, Lorna Jane Mitchell Coded

I continued to code in 2019 because...

Coding is both my profession and my passion. By day I'm a Developer Advocate, working on APIs for developers, contributing to the OpenAPI spec, and helping improve the tutorials and code libraries (all open source). By night I maintain a couple of open source projects and generally try to do good in the world.

I deserve credit for...

Continuing to share my knowledge and skills with wider communities by writing and speaking. I've been a software developer for a long time and I'm giving myself credit for continuing to pick up new technologies and skills!

I hope to see my tech community...

My biggest hope is that my tech community starts to understand that diversity is more than a woman included in a conference lineup. Communities need to hear voices from all sorts of different backgrounds, and include them as contributors and maintainers - not just one-off event decoration.

Top comments (0)