DEV Community

Cover image for Interview Experience with Thoughtworks — Senior Consultant
Lov Verma
Lov Verma

Posted on

Interview Experience with Thoughtworks — Senior Consultant

I recently applied to ThoughtWorks (TW) Bangalore for the role of Senior Consultant and was interviewed over four rounds. The interview process was comprehensive and aimed at testing my overall software development skills and cultural fitment in the organization. Here is a summary of my experience and some tips to help you prepare for a similar interview.

After applying for the Java Full Stack role with ReactJS for the frontend, I underwent a telephonic screening with the technical recruiter. The screening questions focused on my relevant experience, including concepts of Java, multithreading, databases used, cloud technologies worked on, experience with LLD and HLD, experience with microservices, and exposure to frontend technologies (ReactJS), though I informed the recruiter that I had very brief knowledge about ReactJS. The interview process at TW is unique as it aims to test your overall software development skillset and cultural fitment in the organization. Throughout the process, the interviewers will evaluate whether you align with the organizational goals and values. Technically, they expect you to follow all the best coding practices and standards. It is also advisable to prepare a few questions to ask at the end of each round, which will demonstrate your interest and leave a positive impression on the interviewer.

The recruiter was very friendly and helpful while navigating me throughout the interview process and scheduling rounds as per my convenience. Below is my experience in all four rounds:

Code-pairing Round

The first round was a code-pairing round, which is extensively practiced in TW as a culture, scheduled a week after the telephonic screening. The recruiter shared a GitHub repository link with me, which I had to clone and configure in my local IDE. For me, the project was a SpringBoot project. Before the interview, I had ample time to go through the project and understand it. The round was 1 hour 30 minutes long. The round started with the interviewer sharing their screen and showing a task board similar to a JIRA/Trello board. On that board, there were a few cards, each of which had a corresponding task associated with it. You are free to ask the interviewer to expand each card and walk you through the task. The next 10–15 minutes, you are expected to go through the cards and select one on which you will be working for the next hour. The interviewers evaluated my ability to analyse the problem, break it down into sub-tasks, reuse and refactor existing code. You should have a blueprint ready in your mind before implementing the solution. In the last 10–15 minutes, the interviewer will ask about what else you could have done to arrive at the solution more elegantly and in an optimal manner. They will ask a few questions about the core concepts of Java and Spring that you might have used or could have used. The interviewers will guide and help you throughout the process. To clear this round, focus on following best practices like SOLID principles, TDD, code reuse, etc.

Technical Round

The second round was a technical interview that lasted for 1 hour and 30 minutes. Two interviewers with around 10 years of experience in the IT industry conducted this round. This round focusses on your technical depth and breadth. They evaluated my understanding of the core technology for which I had applied (in my case, it was Java and SpringBoot) and my awareness of alternative technologies. They asked in-depth questions about the tech stack I had worked on or was currently working on. This required me to thoroughly go through the projects mentioned in my resume and figure out answers to questions such as how things work, how they are configured, why a particular approach was chosen and what could have been a better approach. The interviewers guided and helped me whenever I got stuck. To prepare for this round, it is essential to go through your project’s architecture and be able to explain every minute detail.

Leadership Round

After clearing the technical round, the next round was the leadership round. Once again, there were two interviewers, one of whom had nearly 25 years of experience. In this round, the interviewers evaluated my leadership potential and cultural fitment. They asked situational questions to gauge how I would react to different situations, my communication and interpersonal skills, and how I would handle team dynamics.

The purpose of this round was to assess my ability to work in autonomous teams, take risks, and articulate my aspirations (growth, projects, tech stacks) in accordance with the company values. Questions in this round were behavioural questions like: What was the reason for your job change? When was the last time you faced a conflict in your team and how did you resolve it? What kind of people do you prefer not to work with? What was your biggest challenge and how did you overcome it? What has been your biggest achievement thus far?

There are no right or wrong answers in this round. Just try to be positive and answer questions with examples from your past experiences. It is essential to be honest and demonstrate your leadership potential and cultural fitment in the organization.

Social Values Round

In my fourth and final interview round with ThoughtWorks, the focus was on social values. The interviewer asked me about diversity, equity, and inclusion, as well as my experiences working with people from different backgrounds. They also inquired about my contributions to society and how technology could be used to address social problems. Additionally, we discussed situations where someone felt excluded and the social cause that was closest to my heart, and most of the discussion revolved around this topic.

This interview round aimed to test my social values and commitment to creating an inclusive work environment. Overall, the questions were thought-provoking and highlighted the importance of social responsibility in the workplace.

Overall, my interview experience with ThoughtWorks was challenging and insightful. Each round was designed to test different aspects of my skill set and personality, and I felt that I was able to showcase my strengths throughout the process.

Top comments (0)