DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey: Part I
Lucy
Lucy

Posted on

My Journey: Part I

Introduction

Good morning, everyone! I'm back to share some of the things that I've learned over the past 2 weeks since I started my coding journey. It's been a bit rough to retain so much information in a short amount of time, but it's been fun and I am pushing through. I think all of this work will pay off eventually, so I'm looking forward to learning more!

JavaScript Basics

Where should I start with JavaScript? It's a programmer language that I've been working on for two weeks now and I think I'm learning it slowly, but surely. I've learned some basic things, such as arrays, objects, and their related methods. It can get pretty complicated the more that they get nested into each other, but learning to navigate them to get the information that you want is key. Methods such as .find() and .filter() seem to be very important as well to finding the information that you want. I still have a lot of things to learn and remember with the basics, but I'm getting into the groove of things I think.

JSON

This has been the one that I've struggled with the most for some reason. Maybe it's just remembering it all? Either way, I find that persistence is helping me even if it's taking a bit to learn how to use it. For example, knowing when to use POST, GET, PATCH, and DELETE is important and I feel that I'm slowly getting the hang of using them. I've been using them in a lot of school-related projects and I sort of understand, but I seem to struggle with remembering it all right now. If you have any suggestions for memorization, please let me know!

Wrapping Things Up

Overall, my journey so far has been a bit bumpy and it's taking me longer than I initially thought to remember these things, but I know that I'll get the hang of it all eventually! JSON is a bit hard for me right now, but after working with it for a while I have confidence that it'll be a lot easier. Thank you for taking the time to read my post!

Top comments (0)