DEV Community

Cover image for πŸ•΅πŸ½ Debug VS Code Keyboard Shortcuts
Muhammed Ahmed
Muhammed Ahmed

Posted on

πŸ•΅πŸ½ Debug VS Code Keyboard Shortcuts

Sharing an article I originally wrote here

Problem

  • Whilst using VS Code my Cmd + N keyboard shortcut stopped creating a new file
  • I was stumped on how to figure out what was causing the issue

Solution

  • Looking around on Stack Overflow people suggested looking at the Keybindings as installed plugins can cause keyboard shortcut conflicts
  • In VS Code go to Preferences > Keyboard Shortcuts
  • Whilst poking around here I discovered a handy little feature of VS Code where you can type a keyboard shortcut and find out what it's mapped to.
  • You just have to click the little keyboard icon (1) VS Code Keyboard Shortcut
  • I typed in Cmd + N and lo and behold it popped up with two entries and I found the source of the conflict and deleted the conflicting one

πŸ‘‹ Hope it helps someone figure out their issues. If you'd like to keep up with technical blog posts on a variety of topics please feel free to join me on upsync.dev 😎

Top comments (0)