DEV Community

Mackenly Jones
Mackenly Jones

Posted on

Hacktoberfest 2023 👕

Intro

Hi, my name is Mackenly and this was my fourth year participating in Hacktoberfest. I'm a full-stack developer mostly focused on web front and backend development.

This year I focused my contributions on three projects:

  • Link Shortener: A new project building a Cloudflare Workers based link-shortening application. https://github.com/mackenly/link-shortener
  • Cloudflare Documentation Improvements: I worked on improving the Cloudflare developer docs by fixing some errors and visual bugs.
  • Meetup Scrapper: My local developer meetup hosted a Hacktoberfest event where I worked on a project to scrap the latest meeting from meetup.com. This was also Cloudflare Workers based and will eventually be used as a part of the meetup's web page at tricities.dev

Highs and Lows

My biggest disappointment was the lack of Hacktoberfest t-shirts this year. Hacktoberfest certainly doesn't feel the same and it has lost much of the fun that previous years had. Still, it wasn't all bad. Getting to work with others at a dedicated event was great and I look forward to future events like that.

Thank you to all the maintainers, contributors, event organizers, and sponsors!

Top comments (0)