DEV Community

Cover image for What are your favorite VS Code extensions?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are your favorite VS Code extensions?

VS Code extensions let you add languages, debuggers, and tools to your installation to support your development workflow.

Some of my favs include Settings Sync, Prettier, ESLint, Bracket Pair Colorizer, Code Spell Checker, Better Comments, Path Intellisense, Live Server, ES7, React, Redux & GraphQL Snippets, GitLens, Markdown All in One.

Curious to see what are your favorites?

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
bhanu1776 profile image
Bhanu Sunka

I found one really cool vscode theme named Jellyfish-x-retro šŸš€šŸš€
Do checkout: marketplace.visualstudio.com/items...

Collapse
 
joachimzeelmaekers profile image
Joachim Zeelmaekers

I like the ones you use!
I also use TODO Highlight, CodeSnap, DotENV, Import Cost and Spell Right. These are more utility extensions but can be very helpful.

Collapse
 
ursanon profile image
Krzysztof Begiedza

The most important right now: Remote Containers

Collapse
 
ronan696 profile image
Ronan D'Souza

I use quite a few of the extensions you mentioned. One of my favourite not listed is REST Client. Make API requests right from VS Code rather than using an external API client šŸ˜„

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I usually use Postman for this, and yeah, sometimes get tired of switching screens or splitting the view šŸ˜ƒšŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
curtisl profile image
Curtis Lawrence

Gremlins tracker for Visual Studio Code, has come in handy, especially if you've pasted code snippets with smart quotes, or similar "smart" formatting.

It recently helped me debug a problem with content on a site that had various zero-width and non-breaking space characters that was causing problems.

Collapse
 
mikhailraevskiy profile image
Mikhail Raevskiy

Great time-saving extensions if you are used to working a lot with Markdown:

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Grammarly for VS Code? šŸ˜® Been using Code Spell Checker all the time, time to check it out šŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
thefluxapex profile image
Ian Pride

TDLR; - GlassUI and Markdown All In One.

Other than all the normal extensions for the long list of languages I use, my favorite is GlassUI and like you said Markdown All In One. I watch lots of videos (that I don't have to pay too much attention too) while coding and can glance through VSCODE if I want to see what someone is talking about. I have the luxury of being a so-called "hobbyist" so I don't have deadlines to meet lol. Markdown is just awesomely one of the best extensions there. Especially the auto generation of Table of contents.

Almost all of the other extensions are more of a slight convenience for which I can take or leave as I tend to usually write my own types of automation scripts or bins that essentially do the same thing and I only end up using other people's extensions until I get around to writing my own. I do use the TODO extension in VSCODE, but again, I can take it or leave it because I've written several of my own "TODO" programs in various environments and langauges.

Having said that; I only use GlassUI in Linux because in Windows I have written my own universal sort of version of transparent windows in AutoHotkey; for which, I have script and compiled bins (as compiled as AHK can get lol).

Collapse
 
yolanlepibrac profile image
yolanlepibrac
Collapse
 
alenpaulvarghese profile image
AlenPaulVarghese
  1. Bracket Pair Colorizer (CoenraddS)
  2. Indent-rainbow (oderwat)
  3. Data Preview (Random Fractals Inc.)
  4. Pylance ( even though I does't agree with closed source pylance is a good tool )
Collapse
 
kmhmubin profile image
K M H Mubin

I mostly use those you mention.
I also use Code Time and Waka Time for tracking my time on each project.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

I use Waka time too, great for tracking the time you spend coding šŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
equiman profile image
Camilo Martinez
Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Exactly, if you dive into the specifics, the choice of extensions heavily depends šŸ˜‰
Tho there are still some extensions that apply to every dev, regardless of the niche šŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
ajithgopi profile image
Ajith Gopi

FTP Workspace and Live Sass Compiler

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Great discussion! šŸ™Œ

I recently wrote a post about my top 8 VS Code Extensions for Laravel!

Collapse
 
danytulumidis profile image
Dany Tulumidis

Besides many of the ones you already mentioned i really like themes like Moonlight2, Nigth Owl and Dracula. If any of you know other cool themes i would really like to hear them!

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

All three are nice, I can confirm that too šŸ˜‰
Tho, I've also been a fan of Atom UI, so currently I use One Dark Pro šŸŽØ

Collapse
 
mikeodev profile image
Mike

My favorite are

  • Beautify
  • Better Comments
  • Bracket Pair Colorizer
  • Code Spell Checker
  • Live Sass Compiler
  • Live Server