DEV Community

Mahan
Mahan

Posted on

Chatbot as Digital Assistant

Introduction

Hi, my name is Mahan and I'm a Computer Science graduate for the class of 2020. I am currently working as a Senior Full-Stack Developer focusing on web development with Node.js.

My Final Project

For my Final Year Project, I created a chatbot for the faculty of my university. This chatbot aims to help faculty with their everyday tasks by simplifying the process.

The focus of my project was using chatbots as digital assistants so because of this my thesis includes a lot of theoretical work explaining all the details of how chatbots work and what is required of them to be classed as a digital assistant.

The practical aspect of my project was split into four main sections;

  1. Creating and training the chatbot using Google's Dialogflow
  2. Creating an application layer that will be used to provide personalized information to the bot when needed. This application was created with Golang and was placed in between Dialogflow and the database
  3. Implementing the chatbot into the current university system (UNIC Portal) which is based on Node.js
  4. Adding an administrative panel for system administrators to be able to manage and monitor the chatbot. (On the same system as previous point)

More in-depth explanation of the above sections

Creating and training the chatbot

Application Layer Used for Personalizing the Chatbot

Implementing Into the Current University System

Admin Panel

Notes

This blog post is currently not complete. I am still in the process of finalizing my thesis for submission and presentation so I don't have a lot of free time but I will definitely come back and add many more details as soon as I can. The only reason I have published it is because I need a link for the Github Graduation application.

If anyone has any questions or is interested in this project, you can contact me, I'd love to speak about it!

Unfortunately, I cannot share the Github repo of my project since this is a software that is already live and being used and the source needs to stay private.

Top comments (0)