DEV Community

Maiu
Maiu

Posted on • Updated on

Babylon.js Browser MMORPG - DevLog - Update - #9 - Floating combat text optimization

Hello,
I discovered that my browser is not supporting parallel shader compilation and because of it i was suffering from low fps. After switching to another browser in the moments where my fps was dropping below 10 it was about 50-55. In case of heavy spamming attack messages (50 attacks per second) fps in another browser was dropping to 30 (old would probably die :D)

After optimization without screen recorder I didn't manage to drop it from 60 fps :o

The optimization which I did was to reuse same dynamic texture and plane for player name text and for floating combat text. Previously for each damage text new dynamic texture and plane were created.

Hope You like it!

More info:
https://forum.babylonjs.com/t/babylon-js-browser-3d-mmo-devlog/47440

Top comments (0)