DEV Community

Maiu
Maiu

Posted on

Babylon.js Browser MMORPG - DevLog - Update #8 - Syncing combat animations, sound and damage text

Hello,
This time I was upgrading combat mechanics. I worked on syncing animations between clients, showing combat text and playing sounds. Also I added pseudo precast animation before response from the server is received that attack was successful.
After adding combat text, performance dropped very significantly and my old notebook doesn't handle it good :(

Next on the plate is small refactor on the client side. I want to make one service responsible for event messaging generic, this way I will avoid future mistakes. And also i have one thing to optimize in my ECS engine it wont change much but code will be cleaner.
And for next steps I need to work on combat text performance because now it's terrible...

Hope You like it!

Top comments (0)