DEV Community

Mamadou762
Mamadou762

Posted on

How to effectively use PUT and DELETE HTTP methods in Django Class-Based Views?

I'm setting up a CRUD system with Django, using Class-Based Views. Currently I'm trying to figure out how to handle HTTP PUT and DELETE requests in my application. Despite searching the Django documentation extensively, I'm having trouble finding concrete examples and clear explanations of how to submit these types of queries to a class-based view.

I created a view class named CategoryView, extending from: django.views.View, in which I implemented the get and post methods successfully. And I want to build my urls like this:

  1. New Category: 127.0.0.1:8000/backendapp/categories/create
  2. List all Category: 127.0.0.1:8000/backendapp/categories/
  3. Retrieve only one Category: 127.0.0.1:8000/backendapp/categories/1
  4. Etc...

However, when I try to implement the put and delete methods, I get stuck.

For example :

from django.views import View

class CategoryView(View):
template_name = 'backendapp/pages/category/categories.html'

 def get(self, request):
     categories = Category.objects.all()

     context = {
         'categories': categories
     }

     return render(request, self.template_name, context)

 def post(self, request):
     return

 def delete(self, request, pk):
     return

 def put(self, request):
     return
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I read through the Django documentation and found that Class-Based Views support HTTP requests: ["get", "post", "put", "patch", "delete", "head ", "options", "trace"].
Link: Djando documentation

Despite this, I can't figure out how to do it.

So I'm asking for your help to unblock me.

Top comments (0)