DEV Community

Cover image for An opinionated checklist on how to (re)start your presence on the Web as a (non)developer
Manny
Manny

Posted on

An opinionated checklist on how to (re)start your presence on the Web as a (non)developer

TLDR; I wanted to restart my presence on the web with a new handle and establish foundations for discover-ability, this is a list of what I did.url

  • Start a new Twitter Account
  • Create a new GitHub/GitLab Account
  • Create a new dev.to Account
  • Generate a new landing page via Vercel

Why?

I wanted to start fresh.

I wanted to be able to have a space and accounts that are unified under a common similar handle.
I wanted to be able to share/link this to my LinkedIn profule and establish a presence that could point to the "me" that is seen in professional settings.

I wanted to differentiate my presence on social platforms that was created at a different era/time in my life.

My other Twitter account was noisy and not curated or focused on software development entirely and with that came this mix.

I wanted less noise.

How?

Start a new Twitter Account

I registered a domain, typingona.computer, that is able to receive email and so I created a new Twitter account (@mannyistyping) associated with that email address that would overlap across multiple platforms.

Create a new GitHub/GitLab Account

I went to both GitHub and GitLab and created an account using a similar username.

This provides a clean slate to start projects and also make decisions on how I want to organize them.

At the moment I am considering using a monorepo that would encompass all related projects.

Create a new dev.to Account

Here we are! I am writing this on the new account to document my work and also provide a space to capture my thoughts, ideas, etc.

I am also looking at forem and considering registering for that as well. (I have never used forem and so I am unsure as how to use it!)

Generate a new landing page via Vercel

Using the newly created GitHub account, I went and registered for Vercel's personal account using the Next.js Blog Template.

http://mannyis.typingona.computer


And there we are!
The beginning to establishing a new Web presence on the internet.

What I plan to do next after writing this initial post on dev.to is to start working on http://mannyis.typingona.computer so that I can either automate posts here to land there or posts there to land here.

#developer #newbeginnings #webpresence #startingover #devlife

Top comments (0)