DEV Community

Maria
Maria

Posted on

My First Steps in Design: Crafting a Subscription Card with Bootstrap

Hey everyone! I just joined Medium, and I’m excited to share my journey into web design. As someone who’s still figuring things out, I thought it would be fun to document my progress and hopefully connect with others who are on a similar path.

Image description

Recently, I took on a small project that was a big learning experience for me. I wanted to create a subscription card using Bootstrap. Since I’m still getting comfortable with design principles and frameworks, this project was a great way to practice what I’ve been learning.

Why Bootstrap?
As a beginner, I find Bootstrap incredibly helpful. It simplifies a lot of the complex aspects of web design, and the pre-built components really help speed up the process. Plus, the responsive grid system is a lifesaver when trying to make sure your designs look good on different screen sizes.

The Concept
I went with a flat design for this subscription card because it felt clean, modern, and easy to work with. The minimalist approach also helped me stay focused on layout rather than getting lost in a bunch of tiny details (which, let’s be honest, is really easy to do when you’re new!).

The Build
Using Bootstrap made it much easier to lay out the card. Here’s a quick overview of how I did it:

I used a simple card component from Bootstrap as the base.
For the styling, I kept things minimal, sticking to flat colors, subtle shadows, and clean typography.
The responsive grid was a big help when I needed to make sure the card worked well across devices.
While the project is simple, I’m proud of it. It might not be perfect, but for someone who’s just getting started, I think it’s a solid foundation to build on.

Next Steps
There’s still so much for me to learn. I’m excited to dive deeper into Bootstrap and explore more advanced concepts like custom styling and interactivity. But for now, I’m happy with what I’ve achieved and am excited to share it with you all.

You can check out the project on CodePen— it’s my first step towards building a portfolio, and I’d love any feedback you have!

My First Design
My CodePen Profile

Thanks for reading, and I look forward to sharing more of my journey here on Medium.

Top comments (0)